Author Topic: Best Kibble for Shar Peis  (Read 2905 times)

sharpei_stephen

• View Profile
Best Kibble for Shar Peis
« on: Oct 24, 2015, 00:34 »
Hello All,

I have a blue Shar Pei, 'Zeus' who is nearly 6 months old. I have been feeding on Eden Holistic Dog Food for the past 4 months. It has came to my attention that the Crude Protein levels in Eden are from 41% to 46%.

If my information regarding Eden is incorrect please put me right as I looking at an alternative food for Zeus a dry kibble food.

I am looking for a food that has a protein level of 17% to 22% with very little to non cereal, maize, wheat or gluten.

If anyone can help or advise me or correct my wrong reading and understanding of Eden's food please dont hesitate to put me right.

Many Thanks
Stephen

Dottie

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Best Kibble for Shar Peis
« Reply #1 on: Oct 24, 2015, 07:09 »
Hello and welcome to the forum.   Eden is a quality product.  If you check out the review on the Dog Food Directory of this website - see here you will see that it has five out of five stars.   Dogs need protein, particularly when they are young and growing. You would be making a mistake if you changed the food to the level that you describe. I don't understand why you would want to reduce your six month old puppy to a food that contains such a low amount of protein.  Please could you explain?  If a dog is doing well on it's current food then it is best to leave them on it, particularly when the  product is a reputable, quality one.