Updated 27 Jul 2019
2.6k 2,554 people have viewed this product in the last month
Overview
Nutrition
Pricing
Company
Similar foods
Comments69

Nutriment Adult

Type of food

Complete raw food

Dog types

Working dogs

Breed sizes

Suitable for toy breed dogs
Adult weight 1-4kg. e.g. Chihuahua, Pomeranian, Yorkshire Terrier
Suitable for small breed dogs
Adult weight 4-10kg. e.g. Beagle, Dachshund, Jack Russell
Suitable for medium breed dogs
Adult weight 10-25kg. e.g. Border Collie, Staffie, Springer, Vizsla
Suitable for large breed dogs
Adult weight 25-45kg. e.g. Boxer, Labrador, Greyhound
Suitable for giant breed dogs
Adult weight 45kg+ e.g. Bernese, Great Dane, Mastiff

Dog ages

From 4 months to old age

Pack sizes

500g tubs, 1.4kg chubbs

RRP

1.4kg chubbs = £3.80

Nutritional rating

97%

At a glance

Natural: Free from added artificial preservatives, antioxidants, colourings, flavourings or other controversial synthetic ingredients
High meat content: Contains at least 30% meat ingredients (on a dry matter basis)
Hypoallergenic: Free from all ingredients that are regularly linked by veterinarians to food allergies and/or intolerance in dogs like wheat, maize, dairy products, soya products and artificial additives
Clearly labelled: Each ingredient is clearly and individually stated and there is at least a reasonable indication of the percentages of the main ingredients
Not certified nutritionally complete: This food does not comply fully with the complete food nutrient tolerances as recommended by FEDIAF and/or AAFCO

Price per day

£
Shop for this food

Nutrition

Composition

Mixing bowl:

85% Fresh Meat Offal and Bone (British Turkey with Bone, British Beef Green Tripe, British Beef Kidney, British Beef Liver), Fresh Carrots, Fresh Butternut Squash, Fresh Broccoli, Fresh Green Curly Kale, Scottish Cold Water Salmon Oil, Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Raw Sea Kelp Powder (Laminaria Japonica), Bilberry Powder (Vaccinium Myrtillus), Spirulina Powder (Spirulina Platensis), Whole Milled Sesame Seeds, Wheat Germ Oil (Natural Vitamin E).

As fed (BETA):

Typical Analysis

Moisture: 64.20%, Protein: 14.70%, Fat: 10.40%, Ash (Inorganic Matter): 5.90%, Fibre: 0.60%, Calcium: 1.20%, Phosphorus: 1.90%, Sodium: 0.10%.

Nutritional additives (per kg)

None.

Dry weight nutrients

Above average

Average

Below average

Pricing

1.4kg chubbs RRP

£3.80

Grams per day

0g

Cost per day

£

Approved supplier:

Buy locally:

Store finder

Company

See more
Company info
Name: Nutriment 2222 Nutriment foods listed
HQ: Surrey, UK
Manufacturer's product description

" A full grown adult dog should be fed around 2-3% of the dog's ideal body weight per day, ideally spread over two meals. If your dog needs to lose some weight, try feeding slightly less than this quantity, or switch to a meat with a lower fat content, until the ideal weight has been achieved. Don't forget that exercise is essential too!

If your pet has been eating the same food every day for months or years, there is a good chance he or she may develop an allergy to it. Contrary to popular belief, pets need diversity in their diets just like humans do - so don't be afraid to mix up your usual order a bit and give your pet some variety! "

Similar foods

Image courtesy of Poppy's Picnic
Poppy's Picnic Mighty Mince

Per day

£2.35

Rating

98%
Image courtesy of Cotswold Raw
Cotswold Raw Active 80/20 Mince

Per day

£1.35

Rating

97%
Image courtesy of Paleo Ridge
Paleo Ridge Classics Range

Per day

£1.17

Rating

91%
Image courtesy of Nutriment
Nutriment Liver Support

Per day

£2.63

Rating

95%
Image courtesy of Benyfit Natural
Benyfit Natural Adult

Per day

£1.28

Rating

97%

Comments

82 Comments AADF Privacy Policy Sign in to comment
Mariah Catania a year ago

Just bought the raw food for cats ( salmon )
Is it normal in a green color ? Cause I was a bit worried

Tarfgi 2 years ago

I have been feeding Nutriment to my three Welsh Springers for about six months. All are very good eaters, so I can't really tell how much they like it! However the two younger ones 7 and 3 years have a variety of flavours, but the 10 year old just has Senior. I would like to give him a bit of variety, so could I give him the occasional food for younger dogs? He's fit and healthy and reasonably active for his age. PS I love the kickable poo - so easy to pick up!

Jonathan Hawker 2 years ago

I cannot praise Nutriment enough. We have a five month old cockapoo puppy who is a very fussy (non) eater. We have tried various recommended kibble and he had little interest and runny poos. Even the highest rated kibbles had no impact.I finally thought enough is enough and tried raw. Nutriment is so highly recommended here, and easily available in a local store so I’ve tried five flavours so far.The result is amazing: my dog is reenergised. He is full of beans. He eats up every last piece of Nutriment within a few minutes, and would eat more if he could. Poos are small, firm and easy to deal with. This clearly is a dog life changing product.Feeding raw this way is easy, non-smelly (except for the beef option - pongtastic), and successful. Give your dog a go and, like me, I suspect you won’t go back to kibble.

Vicki Foster 4 years ago

Hi, how come the typical analysis and dry weight numbers are different? I'm particularly looking at carbs and the typical analysis says 2.4 but the dry weight says 6.3! Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

All About Dog Food Vicki Foster 4 years ago

Hi Vicki and thanks for posting. You can find out more about dry weight nutrient levels and why they differ from the typical analysis here: https://www.allaboutdogfood...

Steve 5 years ago

Just thought I'd update my last comment. I emailed Nutriment questioning these levels and within hours the website changed from Mg to %. I did not even get a thank you for bringing this to their attention. May sound petty but I found this annoying, because of this I decided to buy raw complete meals elsewhere. Funny thing is they still have not changed their omega oils from Mg to %. Still debating if I should tell them but it will just annoy me even more if they then change it without even a little reply to say thanks.

Steve 5 years ago

"Calcium 1.76 mg/100g". Am I missing something as that's next to nothing. That's 0.00176 of a gram, surely I'm being stupid as a KILO of this food would only be 0.0176 of a gram of calcium. Am I reading it wrong?

Bruces Dad 5 years ago

Nutriment could improve their labeling by stipulating the actual % of each ingredient included rather than "85% fresh fish, meat and bone" (for their Salmon) .... which covers a mix of "Scottish Farmed Atlantic Salmon, British Chicken with Bone". Do we assume there's more salmon than chicken/bone as it's the 1st named ingredient? I've seen other foods marked down on similar incomplete labeling.

Kelda Aspire Bruces Dad 5 years ago

For many raw feeders what we really need is % of meat / bone / offal as a balanced diet is considered by many to be an 80:10:10 ratio

Jeanette 5 years ago

I've just swapped from nature's menu to nutriment 1 week in and her poos are very loose sometimes runnie I thought it would settle down by now any suggestions?

David 5 years ago

Been feeding nutriment to my two frenchies for six months now. Nothing is ever wasted energy levels are higher, coat condition is excellent and bowels are regular and firm. Cannot recommend the product enough. Also the thing that surprised me most is that it is actually working out cheaper than the wainwrights grain free they used to be on, maybe because I am purchasing the 10kg mixed bundle online

Sam 6 years ago

hi we have recently bought a batch of chubs and when defrosted they absolutly stink way more than they normally do. We have defrosted in the same way as always (in the fridge) but for some reason they are horrible. So bad the dog wont even go near it. Does this mean its gone off? its been like 3 chubs now and we are having to throw loads of it away. has anyone had same thing happen?

Taylor Downes Sam 6 years ago

A few people on a raw feeding page I am a member of on Facebook have also had some problems with their beef formula ? Not sure if this is the same formula you are having trouble with, it is best to contact Nutriment directly, I am sure they will do everything in their power to rectify this problem 😊

Dee 6 years ago

Just started my miniature Dachshund on nutriment about a week ago now. straight swap too, no easing in. He seems livelier, his stools are so much better too. Just waiting to see if his skin and fur gets better. fingers crossed.

Taylor Downes Dee 6 years ago

It won't be long and he will have a super coat, include plenty of bones to clean his teeth ( not dentastix) and you will have your dog looking the best he ever has 😄

Nick Bishop 6 years ago

The grams per day is way too low for a working dog and we had to increase this from their recommended 285g to 450g to keep his weight on. I must admit he loves this food and his coat and health is amazing but it is not cheap based on these feeding volumes.

ofer Yatziv 6 years ago

Been with them two year, they used to be very good but something has happened. Out of the 4 last deliveries 3 did not arrive. Unfortunately this means we can't trust them.
Further more they were not really bothered at the prospect of loosing us as a customer. Seems to me they have grown beyond caring for regular customersShame as the product is good

Piers Smart 6 years ago

Why do you need to buy this direct? Just visit your local Nutriment retailer😄

Kerry Piers Smart 6 years ago

Hi Piers,
I would but I just don't fancy driving for 30 miles to get to my 'local Nutriment retailer'!
Hence the reason I wish that Nutriment would allow, for example, pets at home (not the font of all evil...) or Jollies, to sell their food as these shops I can get to in a reasonable time!

Kerry 6 years ago

I would love to feed this to my dog but as I only have a small freezer I can't order online as I would have to order small amounts at a time meaning it wouldn't be cost effective and I'd have to keep waiting in for deliveries! I also live far from the nearest stockist (is Greater Manchester the bad dog food capital of England?!) so no chance of picking some up on the way home from work...I really wish some of these companies would work with the large pet retailers so they are more widely available, it might encourage more people to feed their pets decent quality food. As it is I will continue to feed my pup Natures Menu which, fortunately for me, several of the larger retailers have started to stock (and is an excellent food - both raw and tinned!).

Vicki Wolf Kerry 5 years ago

Kerry, MOST manufacturers do work with the large retailers (even Tesco, Waitrose, etc) to the point the small independent pet shops are dying out because we can't compete with the prices they offer due to buying in bulk. This may be convenient for you, but we have the right to earn a living and feed our families just like you, and we can only do this if a handful of the smaller companies refuse to sell to the big guys. You have plenty of choice for healthy options at Pets at Home, and there is nothing wrong with Natures Menu.

Lynn 7 years ago

Hi please help.
I am considering changes from dry kibble to nutriment raw food for my westie as she has itchy skin problems and have been told that raw food is good for their skin and helps with the itching. If I were to change from kibble to raw do I have to introduce it slowly to her diet and what is the rule for change.
Thanks.

Barbara B Lynn 7 years ago

Hi Lynn, I suggest you phone Nutriment (01276 63554) and ask them directly. They were incredibly helpful when I phoned them, and will give you advice about the best way to approach the change for your own dog. Good luck, I'm sure you'll find it will help.

Lynn Barbara B 7 years ago

Hi Barbara
Thank you for that I will give them a ring. Fingers crossed.

Lynn 7 years ago

Hi i have been feeding Nutriment for 12 months but raw feeding for 3 years now and my dogs love it i have had many dogs pass through my door as i'm admin on rescue a westie UK fb and have had many dogs come through on their way to a new home and have never had a dog turn its nose up at it. people tend to forget that raw fed dogs do tend to self regulate and will stop eating on raw both when full and when there is a rapid change of temperature, also some dogs prefer their food at room temp some like it cold,chilled or even slightly frozen, also dogs can naturally fast for up to 48 hours without a problem! im so impressed with nutriment i've become a stockist and after going around the Nutriment site and checking out the ingredients for myself i can honestly say i know what my dogs eat and its the best uk human grade meat fish and veg.

Vicki Nelson 7 years ago

Been on the nutrient website and can't get how much the delivery is,I'm only ordering 15quid worth of food to see if my dogs like it and I stay in Scotland.can anyone help.also how long does delivery usually take.

Barbara B Vicki Nelson 7 years ago

Vicky, the page with shipping info isn't immediately obvious on the website but it is there. All you need to know here: http://www.nutriment.co/shi...You also need to see this page about special arrangements for deliveries in this hot weather though: http://www.nutriment.co/urg...Also, I've found that it is better at the moment to order in exact multiples of 10kg, that way you completely fill each insulated box which helps the food to stay completely frozen in transit.

Heather Pilkington 7 years ago

My son is disabled and has a slightly lower immunity, our GBGV puppy girl has Nutriment and loves it but how do you clean the fur afterwards. I don't like telling my son he can't stroke her after she's eaten and I don't know whether I'm actually cleaning her sufficiently by using a baby wipe. She's being trained as a therapy dog for him so it's more important they train together and bond. Three times a day he can't go near her? Any advice would be welcome. She hasn't been able to eat kibble as it makes her vomit etc, we have tried several for extended periods without a good result and I won't feed her a substandard food. Thanks.

Chris Perry 7 years ago

My puppy (now age nine months) still prefers Nutriment to his regular dry food. I ordered another 5kg of Nutriment (10x500g packs) on Thursday and it arrived the next day. The packs fill just over a third of my freezer. I am a satisfied customer and plan to go on buying Nutriment. My only criticism would be that I wish they'd put up the price of the Adult Starter Packs slightly and make them equally weighted (2xChicken 2xTurkey 2xDuck 2xBeef 2xSalmon).

Lynn Chris Perry 7 years ago

Hi chris check out the stockists there may be one local to you that way you can order different varieties and choose the ones your dog likes most and it will save you on delivery, and your not stuck with the same flavors x

Chris Perry 7 years ago

My puppy age eight months has now been on Nutriment for two weeks. He prefers Nutriment to his dry food (he gets half the recommended amount of Nutriment and half the recommended amount of the dry food). This diet seems to suit him well. His poos are a bit reduced in size (on average) and are usually firm. Im pleased with Nutriment. (I only have a small freezer. Ten packs of 500g Nutriment fill about a third of my freezer.)

Lisa Bubs-Kas Chris Perry 7 years ago

You really should not be mixing raw with dried food, the digestion rates are vastly different and the raw sits in the stomach with the kibble and is a recipe for your dog getting salmonella.

Chris Perry Lisa Bubs-Kas 7 years ago

Hi Lisa, thanks for warning me. I didnt realise there might be problems. Yes I believe you are correct: some dogs experience gastric upset from mixing raw and dried food in the same meal. However, some dogs (including mine so far) do not. Regards, Chris.

Anthony Daley Lisa Bubs-Kas 7 years ago

Not entirely true, this depends on what kibble is being fed. Kibble such as eden holistic 80/20/00 multi meat is a good mixer with raw as it contains no grain or cereal (the stuff that stops both digesting at the same interval)I've been feeding my puppy this from day one and he's in perfect health.

Ruth Johnson 7 years ago

Unfortunately my Shih-Tzu x Bichon will not touch this, even after a battle of wills, which eventually she won. The only way to avoid wasting money I can ill afford to lose, is to zap each meal in the microwave for about 40 secs (give or take), but even then she will not touch the duck. Needless to say, I won't be purchasing again. Additionally, just in case someone makes the same (silly) mistake I did, which is to say I was totally unprepared for the 20 x 500g trays to arrive frozen... luckily I'm blessed with fantastic next door neighbours who had space in their additional freezer or else I'd have totally been up the creek without a paddle.

Katrina DeVita 7 years ago

My dogs love this food. The price is very reasonable and most importantly I can see the difference in them. My little dog now wolfs down his food rather than living on treats! Two happy, healthy dogs and a satisfied owner :-)
I would recommend getting the starter packs - you get a variety of flavours and free shipping, bargain!

Martha de Lacey 7 years ago

Hello, I LOVE the idea of this stuff and all the reviews of it but… my dog hates it. Any tips of how to make her like it? She sniffs it, pokes it around, then knocks the bowl over or buries it and walks away. Every now and then she'll eat it, but when she doesn't I get worried that's because it's gone off, so I let her get away with not eating it and eventually, a few hours later, after trying and failing again, give her something else. It does smell funny sometimes - does that mean it's gone off or is that just the way it smells!? Thanks

Tegan 7 years ago

Ive been using this for the past four weeks! So easy to use. My dog loves it. His skin is improving already. Online purchasing arrives in a fantastic package meaning it stays frozen. The staff are excellent! Even helping me out with some advice with my cat on a sunday late at night. You just cant go wrong with this company. When you open the first pack you might need to stand back, the quality is so good all you need to do is put a bit of potato on the top and cook it for yourself as a cottage pie! .... stand back in amazment.... its great!

Angela Ayre 7 years ago

I have tried Nutriment for all 7 of my dogs and yes its a good food and my guys love it BUT its got too much whole veg mixed in and the dogs poop rainbows after eating it ! I believe veg should be purée and not fed whole as dogs cant digest it

Valerie jones 7 years ago

Am I missing something as there appears to be only offal in this food and no muscle meat or bone, (only heart, liver, tripe and kidney) and vets/nutritionists have always advised never to give liver every day, only occassionally. Even the fish and turkey variety contains liver,etc.

Jade Valerie jones 7 years ago

Heart is a muscle meat to start with :)

Yumyum 7 years ago

My dogs have been on this since the summer - they love it. My Lhasa Apso always looked so miserable faced with a bowl of kibble and had also suffered with colitis with some brands - no more colitis now and she dances with joy and pulls my trouser leg to be fed now. Excellent food.

artilsminiz 7 years ago

This is an excellent, satisfying food enjoyed by weaners through to elderly dogs. It is fully compatible with no vaccinating/no flea chemicals/no worming/ homeopathic regimes. A phone call gives access to excellent advice and guidance. There are options to suit all palates and activity levels. Home delivery service is available or collection from the Camberley kitchen. Best of all is nothing ever gets wasted and only small inoffensive feaces result, and if you don't pick up in the garden straight away the feaces quickly turn to dry white remains.

Maddoglady 7 years ago

I have a dog with pancreatitis what can I feed him please? he's been on NI for years but doesn't like there special diet for dogs prone to pancreatitis

All About Dog Food Maddoglady 7 years ago

Hi Laylah. With pancreatitic dogs it is essential to minimise the workload on the pancreas with a low fat, easily digestible diet. Your best bet would be to use our Advanced Dog Food Search page (http://www.whichdogfood.co.... to get a better idea of what products might suit your dog. Be sure to select 'minor digestive upsets' under 'Is your dog suffering from...' and deselect high and medium fat under 'Search by nutrient levels' before clicking 'Search and compare'. You'll be taken to a list of foods that should fit the bill ranked in order of their rating so the nearer the top, the better we would expect it to be for him. Of course, every dog is different so finding the perfect food may need a little trial and error. Which ever food you decide to try, it is always best to change gradually to make the transition as easy as possible on the digestive system.

Julie backley 7 years ago

Am thinking of introducing this to my 8 month cockerpoo, weighs 14kg, is currently on sneyds complete dry food, how do you gradually change it over?? Thanks,.

All About Dog Food Julie backley 7 years ago

Hi Jamie. Check out our guide to changing foods here: http://www.whichdogfood.co....

Gavin 7 years ago

BEST RAW COMPLETE YOU CAN GET!

Karen Marks 8 years ago

I've recently changed to Nutriment and this is far better quality meat than that of a similarly located supplier of RAW food. My dogs love RAW and are all working dogs and require no additional energy supplements. They are all healthy and have fabulous coat condition.

Jackie Mannall Jones 8 years ago

I would like to feed this to my dog, but cannot get to nearest store, is it available online?

Sharon Ayres Jackie Mannall Jones 7 years ago

I order straight from Nutriment online. They are really helpful, if you give them a call too. I've phoned for advice before now. If you order 40KG, you get free shipping too.

Jez Murray Jackie Mannall Jones 8 years ago

Yep, check http://www.nutriment.co/

SandySetter 8 years ago

Thanks for the explanation...I feed this food, and my dogs do really well on it. They weigh around 26-27kgs each and have 250g twice a day. Really pleased I found it.

Ger Coyle 8 years ago

Hang on, how can the meat content be 85% if its moisture content is 68.8% which leaves only 31.2% of bio-available nutrients and how is a carnivore supposed to thrive on a diet as low as 16% protein, You would need to be feeding massive amounts in which case those of us that has more than 1 large dog couldn't possibly afford it?

All About Dog Food Ger Coyle 8 years ago

Hi Ger. It's because all fresh ingredients naturally contain a lot of water. Fresh meat, for example, is usually around two thirds water. As for protein, in order to compare the levels in wet foods with those in dry foods you really have to do so on a dry matter basis, in which case Nutriment is over 50% protein. You're quite right that you have to feed more wet or frozen food than you would with a dry kibble but many would argue that doing so is more natural.

Ger Coyle All About Dog Food 8 years ago

Yes which is still only 16% or so of the overall % of the overall product so seen as how the high moisture is present the point that your making of removing the moisture to attain 50% protein is fairly moot ergo the protein content in this food gram for gram in my opinion is still very low.

Wayne Barratt 8 years ago

hi I have a great dane at over 60kg in weight. your feeding guide tells me 1625 grams a day at a cost of £3.48.
however the 1.4 kg tubs are priced at £4.00. surely this wrong?
otherwise great site..
many thanks wayne

All About Dog Food Wayne Barratt 8 years ago

Sorry about that Wayne. The fact that the different varieties have different prices was causing the error but it should all be fixed now. Thanks for letting me know.

Julie Brader 8 years ago

Thank goodness I found Nutriment!! what a brilliant food this is - my two Cockers are on the Low Purine Diet due to one of them having pancreatic problems. I've never seen two dogs change so much, their coats are like silk; they go crazy for the food and they are actually calmer. The company themselves are extremely helpful too - I'm recommending this food to all my 'doggie friends'. Well done Nutriment ;-)

Babs Harding 8 years ago

Nutriment is just great food, changed our dogs over to this a few weeks ago and love it, they are in excellent condition, we would recommend it to anyone, staff are so helpful

Derek 8 years ago

Our dogs started eating from Nutriment a few weeks ago and the difference was amazing, even wanting to help open up the food. They are full of life and their coats are gleaming.
Excellent food and even better customer service.

Advertisment

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Site map | Contact Us

Copyright © 2021 David Jackson. All Rights Reserved. Company registered in Finland (why?) #2486782-1